Having made five supporting appearances in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) – three of them in Avengers movies – Hawkeye was always destined to have his own show.

At least that’s what fans have been clamouring for in recent years.

If you’re a Marvel fan, you’d probably remember there being a lot of talk over a possible Hawkeye movie a couple of years ago, which sent fans into a frenzy.

It’s now 2021, and Hawkeye finally has his own show. Except it’s a six-part television series instead of a movie. 

Everything About Hawkeye, a New Marvel 6-Episode Series That Just Dropped on Disney+

Yesterday (24 Nov), while many of us were dining out with more of our friends, a brand new Marvel television series dropped on Disney+.

Centered around Clint Barton, the man behind Hawkeye, it is the fifth television series in the MCU, sharing continuity with the films of the franchise.

This particular series takes place after the events of the film Avengers: Endgame (2019).

Jeremey Renner reprises his role as Hawkeye, and is joined by MCU newcomer Hailee Steinfeld, who plays Kate Bishop.

Here’s the synopsis for the show:

Clint Barton must partner with Kate Bishop to confront enemies from his past as Ronin in order to get back to his family in time for Christmas.

Of course, it’s hard to understand what this means without some context.

Join our Telegram channel for more entertaining and informative articles at or download the Goody Feed app here:

Background Information 

Ronin is Clint’s alter-ego; after he lost his family in Thanos’ universe, Clint becomes a masked vigilante who tracked down and slaughtered criminals, under the alias of Ronin.

Meanwhile, Kate Bishop, who thinks of herself as the world’s greatest archer, is a big Hawkeye fan and wants to learn from him and hone her archery skills so she will one day be called up by the Avengers.

Don’t we all.

Why Marvel Switched to a TV Series

As previously mentioned, Marvel had initially planned a movie for Hawkeye. So, why the change?

The show’s producer Trinh Tran, explained that there was just too much content to squeeze into a two-hour feature.

“I want to pull this; I want to use this. And I was like, how can we put it all into two hours worth of content?…So it made sense that Disney+ allowed the space for six hours worth of content,” she said.

Not only did they have to explore Hawkeye’s backstory, but they also had to introduce a new character – Bishop – and a movie simply wouldn’t allow for that.

Each episode is an hour long, and a new one gets released each week. The first two episodes, however, premiered yesterday (24 November), on the day of the show’s launch.

Not sure if it’ll you’ll like it? Here’s a trailer to whet your appetite:

YouTube video

Read Also:

Featured Image: Disney+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *